Food Wars Recap

Now that the Food Wars hoopla is over I just wanted to offer up a couple of thoughts o the whole thing.  I think Milwaukee was well-represented in the show.  Going to Karl Ratzch’s was a nice touch, same with the Milwaukee Public Market.   I do hate how they use the same shots over and over (Sobleman on the 2nd story balcony, the google maps pan from restaurant to restaurant, etc.) and think they could have gotten some different clips instead of that filler.  It does seem as if Camille Ford seems to really enjoy her job.  I could see someone else in her position just doing the show for exposure, hoping to get out as soon as possible but she really seems to do her homework and brings a great deal of energy and passion to the show. 

I will admit that I knew the winner weeks ago but that didn’t take anything away from my enjoyment of the show.  I think Joe Sorge and Dave Sobleman did a great job and I really liked the camera shots as he and Camille made their way through Sobleman’s crowd.   When the winner was announced, I really felt bad for Dave Sobleman, you could tell he was completely blindsided by the loss.  He should hold his head up high though, he still serves some of the best burgers in the state.  As I mentioned on Twitter, I love both of these places but there are a lot of other great burgers in the Milwaukee area including Stack’d, Mazo’s, Wicked Hop, Trinity 3, Taylor’s People’s Park (Waukesha), Fuzzys on Main (also Waukesha), Bunkers (West Allis), and Elsa’s on the Park. 

Before they came to Milwaukee one of their people contacted me asking for advice on who they should have as judges.   Here is what I sent to them:

“Two people come to mind for the panelists, one is Kyle Cherek, host of Wisconsin Foodie http://wisconsinfoodie.com/, an incredible show about pretty much anything that has to do with Wisconsin food and drink. Watch some of the episodes on the web and you’ll see that he would probably be a great judge.  Another person would be Tom Graber from Milwaukee’s Best Burgers website.  I don’t know him personally but if you look at his website http://bestburgersinmilwaukee.com/ you can tell he’s pretty much all about promoting great Milwaukee area burgers without bias.  Even though he doesn’t live here, George Motz (Hamburger America) has made several visits to Milwaukee and could be a nice addition to the panel of judges.”

I’d like to say I was one of the reasons Kyle was picked but they were actually already talking to him at that point.  I think he did a great job and is becoming the face of a thriving Wisconsin food scene.   To hear about Kyle’s take on the whole thing, check this out.  Lucky bastard even got to hang out with Camille Ford afterwards!  I am a huge Josh Ozersky fan so it was awesome seeing him on the show. 

So far this year we have had Anthony Bourdain, Andrew Zimmern, and Camille Ford in town.  Who is next? Adam Richman perhaps?

3 thoughts on “Food Wars Recap

  1. Nice recap of the events. Also, great suggestions on the judges!

    I have to agree that it was very nice to see Milwaukee painted in such a good light and highlighting it’s history and it’s food. The whole Food Wars cast and crew really did their homework on this episode.

Leave a Reply

