I’m back/Red Gold Tomato Giveaway

After a few month hiatus (my wife and I had a baby) I am back and hope to be updating this site more regularly.

To celebrate my return i am going to give away a variety box of Red Gold canned tomato products and some Red Gold goodies. You see they sent me a bunch of stuff a while back that I agreed to giveaway and I just never got around to it.

So what do you need to do to enter the contest? Just post in the comments section what you would do with a bunch of canned tomatoes. The more absurd, funny, or creative the entry the better.  I will take all entries and randomly select the winner.   Contest ends May 15, 2009.

6 thoughts on “I’m back/Red Gold Tomato Giveaway

  1. Sorry this isn’t absurd but I’d take the canned tomatoes and make a bunch of vegetarian chili and lasagna. Congrats on the new baby!

  2. I’d roll around in Red Gold tomatoes and Velveeta cheese sauce, and cheap pickled jalapenos and have Carla Bruni do…

    Oh sorry, I forgot where I was.

    I guess I’d just brown up some lamb stew meat from either Ruegsegger Farms who unfortunately no longer frequent West Allis Farmers Market or Greek Acre Farms which does frequent Waukesha Farmers Market and will come there in the off season, along with a bunch of okra, a can of Red Gold tomatoes, appropriate herbs and spices and some cous cous.

    Hat tip to this blog for turning me on to Greek Acres. Lamb hearts are tasty.

  3. How do you prepare lamb hearts? I’d give them a try but just have no clue where to even start. I suppose I could check Chris Cosentino’s blog.

  4. Tom – would you mind sharing your recipe so I can post it on the blog? I’d like to do something for the start of the Waukesha Farmer’s Market next weekend and that recipe would fit right in.

  5. Jeff- I don’t mind at all but it’s one of those things that I just throw together without a recipe.
    Off the top of my head it usually goes like…

    2 cloves garlic minced
    2 onion chopped
    1 lb. lean lamb meat cubed
    1 to 2 pounds fresh small okra, stem end trimmed
    Couple large tomatoes or a couple 14oz cans tomatoes
    Spices and/or herbs
    Water or broth

    Saute up garlic and onion in olive oil or butter.
    Add lamb to brown
    Add tomatoes and okra
    Add liquid such as broth or water if needed to just cover meat and veggies.
    Season with salt, pepper and herbs/spices (see below)
    Simmer for awhile, maybe an hour until everything is tender.
    Adjust seasoning, maybe add a splash of something acidic like lemon juice depending on your tomatoes.
    Serve with rice or cous cous.

    For the herbs & spices you could use anything that seems middle eastern. Cumin and coriander are good. It works pretty well with a cajun seasoning too.

    Fresh okra won’t be out for a while. You can sometimes find good stuff off-season at a couple of the local indian groceries. If you have to use frozen get whole and as small as possible. If you use frozen throw them in towards the end.

    I can’t take credit for this. Look for lamb and okra stew or bamia and you’ll see lots of examples.

Leave a Reply

