Blog Vacation

Not that I planned it but I pretty much ignored this blog in December.  I didn’t really mean to do it but I got busy with the typical stuff…holiday parties, shopping, etc.  I am planning on some bigger and better things in 2007 including a site redesign.

Tomorrow I will write a full review of the Social, which I also visited last year.  A review of Il Mito will follow shortly thereafter as well as some highlights of a recent trip to New Orleans.

To hold you over, here are some interesting food things I have found on the web:

I recently discovered the Cheese Underground Blog.   This blog has actually been around since early 2006 but its new to me.  I have enjoyed catching up on all of the posts.  She covers cheesemaking, tasting, recipes, and pretty much anything else you need to know about Wisconsin cheese.   I found the site while searching for Burrata sources in Wisconsin.  Bel Gioioso  out of Denmark, Wisconsin makes it but I cannot find their version anywhere around Milwaukee.  When I contacted them this summer they told me they are still trying to find someone to distribute it around here.     While shopping at Sendik’s on Capitol Drive in Brookfield I finally found some imported Burrata. It wasn’t cheap, but it was well worth the 12 bucks.  I would recommend that you get your hands on some.  If people don’t buy it, nobody will carry it.  It has an extremely short shelf life so if stores aren’t moving enough they will just decide it is not worth the hassle.

Audra over at Taste of the Town writes about  Benihana.  I think that place sucks, but people seem to like it.

I don’t know if anyone else would agree but I think that the Amateur Gourmet jumped the shark.  He wrote a book and now he rarely reviews restaurants, which was what really attracted many people to the site.  He has also hired interns, which I think ruins the personal nature of his blog.  Don’t get me wrong, its still a great blog but it isn’t the must read that it had been.

Also, the Journal still hasn’t hired a food critic 6 months after Getto passed away.  Its an embarrassment that they still have no restaurant critic covering the biggest dining scene in the State for the biggest paper in the State.  When I e-mailed them in October they claimed they were still looking.  I don’t think I believe them.

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Vacation

  1. Check out the latest Milwaukee Magazine. They talk about how the Journal has had over 60 outside applications for Getto’s old job, plus they are trying out a bunch of internal candidates. They say they haven’t hired anyone yet because it is still too close to Getto’s death and too early to fill such a high profile position.

  2. Thanks for the heads up. While I disagree with this bs about it being too close to his death to do anything, I guess they have a right to set their own timetable. I would have waited 3 months tops..and maybe only a month if hiring an internal candidate. It is making them look like they don’t care.

  3. Pingback: burrata recipes

Leave a Reply

